# **CFUSC Facilitates Scholarship Opportunities**

# Looking Back to Look Forward: Scholarships Presented 2002 to 2023



This scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who is planning a post-high school education program. Applicants should provide an essay showing evidence of selflessness among peers and a willingness to help others through volunteerism; evidence of achieving the best in school performance, and that the applicant has limited opportunities to receive other academic or athletic scholarships. This scholarship will not exceed \$500. Applications are available in the Counseling Department at USCHS.

## Recipients

Recipients	
Timothy Wagner – 2004	Jeffrey Harshman – 2005
Jenny Malarkey – 2006	Lisa Ripper – 2007
Vanessa Stuckert – 2008	Megan Krantz – 2009
Lauren Williams – 2010	Elizabeth Moore – 2011
Conor Klutch – 2012	Lily Olsakovsky – 2013
Benjamin Haus – 2014	Jonathan Eric Wharton – 2015
Erin Pacalo – 2016	Faley Bulazo – 2017
Hannah Pribanic – 2018	Noah Markovitz – 2019
Jacob Manko – 2020	Brooke Reitz – 2021
Linas Friedman – 2022	Charles Stohl - 2023

#### T.J. White St. Clair Athletic Scholarship\*

This scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who will attend a four-year college and plans to continue participating in his/her sport. The applicant must have been a member of a USC team sport for all four years of high school and received at least two varsity letters in that sport. A 3.2 Grade Point Average is required for consideration. This scholarship will not exceed \$750. Applications are available in the Counseling Department at USCHS.

Recipients

Jeremy Black – 2007 Elizabeth J. Kline – 2009 (No Candidate) – 2011 John Rutkowski – 2013 Sam Schiffman – 2015 Louis Olsakovsky – 2017 Antonio Orsini – 2019 Ethan Dahlen – 2021 Cody Marn - 2023 Andrea Pion – 2008 Amy Anderson – 2010 Austin Stephan – 2012 Giuseppe Orsini – 2014 Ryan Harkleroad – 2016 Kate Groninger – 2018 Sara Steve – 2020 Tanner O'Grady – 2022

#### **Thomas Harshman Memorial Scholarship\***

This is presented to a graduating senior with exceptional talent in music, dance, theater or art and who exhibits leadership, creativity, teamwork, problem solving and commitment to others. Recipients

Josilyn Seftchick – 2023

### John & Kathy Burke DeBlassio Future Educator Scholarship\*

This is sponsored by the Class of 1971 and is awarded to a graduating senior who is planning to be a teacher/educator and has a demonstrated record of service to others. Eligibility requires acceptance into a college or university with a major in education. **Recipients** Olivia Decker – 2023

## Stephen Stroyne STEAM Innovation Scholarship\*

This scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who has demonstrated creativity in STEAM and intends to pursue higher education in the field of STEAM. Recipients

John Scherer – 2023

Contributions to the Scholarship Funds are welcome. Please make checks payable to CFUSC, with a notation on the memo line indicating which fund you support. Your support is greatly appreciated and will benefit many deserving students as they pursue a college degree.

Mail your donation to:

Community Foundation of Upper St. Clair 2585 Washington Road, Suite 131 Upper St. Clair, PA 15241



#### Krishnan Family Scholarship\*

The scholarship was created by the Krishnan children in honor of their parents Sivaram Krishnan and Revathi Krishnan is intended to "pay it forward."
Recipients
Isabella Marasco – 2022 Fiona Wang – 2022
Sophia Song – 2023

Joanne Szymanski Scholarship 2008-2016

This scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who will attend a four-year college or university with a major in mathematics. Preference will be given to applicants who attended Middle School in Upper St. Clair. This scholarship will not exceed \$750.

Recipients Scott Yanak – 2008 Mary Collins – 2010 Ben Zhang – 2012 Jacquelynn Ross – 2014 Maura Brody – 2016

Amy Twerdok – 2009 Erin McTiernan – 2011 Grace Ellen Trocano – 2013 Kristine English – 2015

#### Ted Barnett Scholarship 2003-2017

This scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who attended Baker Elementary School and will attend a fouryear college. Criteria for application will be based on academics, leadership, extra-curricular involvement and volunteerism. This scholarship will not exceed \$500.

Recipients Nicholas Carosella – 2003 James Marsh – 2005

James Marsh – 2005 Nicholas Shea – 2007 Eric Elliott – 2009 Maggie Overstreet – 2011 Anastasia Novodran – 2013 Martin Bacik – 2015 Alex Beynon – 2017 Julie Poljak – 2004 Aristaia Vasilakis – 2006 Madeline Massaro – 2008 Kristen Stein – 2010 Katherine Snyder – 2012 Grace Chen – 2014 Sarah Kerman – 2016

### Mary Elena Batz Scholarship 2002-2018

This scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who will major or minor in performing or theater arts. Criteria for application will be based upon exceptional talent and leadership, and a history of at least two years of participation in the USCHS Musical or Fall Play. This scholarship will not exceed \$500. Recipients

Trevor Falletta – 2002 Lauren Sapienza – 2004 Stephanie Maloney – 2006 Sarah Scola – 2008 Emily Summers – 2010 Michael Boyas – 2012 Melody MacLachlan – 2014 Ben Nadler – 2016 Holly Smith – 2018 Darcy Shaffner – 2003 Lara Hillier – 2005 Joyce Hinnebusch – 2007 C. Grant Carey – 2009 Sarah Nadler – 2011 Anna Azizzy Rosatti –2013 Tom Maddigan – 2015 Carly DeCock – 2017

#### Patrick O'Brien Scholarship 2020

This scholarship is in memory of Baker School Third Grader, Patrick O'Brien, and was awarded to Haley Beardsley, Class of 2020, a member of his graduating class in 2020.

# John Small Spirit of Community Award

 This scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior has demonstrated a commitment to community involvement throughout their high school years.

 Recipients

 Tyler Clark – 2017
 Hannah Pribanic – 2018

 Rebecca Speer – 2019
 Juliana Tarcson – 2020

 Eileen Guo – 2021
 Eva Rankin – 2022

# \*Designates Currently Active Scholarship Funds